Conference Awards

This year's conference offers a number of opportunities for researchers, clinicians, community partners, junior investigators, and trainees to obtain awards for their meritorious work addressing minority health and health disparities.

Thank you for your interest. This meeting has ended.

About the Greenwood Award

Nominations Due: 10/25/2019 at 11:59 PM EDT
Click here to submit your nominations »

The Greenwood Award is dedicated to the memory of Dr. Frederick C. Greenwood, an internationally acclaimed scientist and exemplary scientific administrator, who worked at the University of Hawaii Manoa from 1986 until his death in August 2000. From the inception of the RCMI Program and the Program Directors' Association, Dr. Greenwood worked tirelessly to ensure that the program was well funded and addressed the needs of the minority populations it was designed to serve. Dr. Greenwood was highly respected for his seminal contributions to and productivity in endocrinology and perinatal health. He set and met high standards for research excellence. He also strongly advocated for research opportunities for students, particularly under-represented minority students.

The intent of the award is to honor individuals who exemplify either Dr. Greenwood's ideal of research excellence or his commitment to service to the biomedical science community, especially as it pertains to minority populations. One (1) award will be made for research excellence and/or longstanding service excellence to the RCMI community. The awardee will receive a modest honorarium and will be provided with funds to cover travel expenses and hotel accommodations to attend the RCMI Program 2019 National Conference in Bethesda, Maryland, on December 15–17, 2019.

The awardee will be invited to present a lecture, which assesses the impact of recent scientific advances or legislative action on the reduction or elimination of health disparities. Considerable discretion, however, will be given to the lecturer regarding his or her choice of subject, and he or she may, for example, choose to discuss advances made in other fields of knowledge that have important implications on improving minority health and on eliminating health disparities.

Click here to submit your nominations »

Past Award Recipients

2017 Dr. Keith C. Norris
University of California Los Angeles
2014 Dr. Richard Yanagihara
University of Hawaii, Manoa School of Medicine
2012 Dr. James E. K. Hildreth
Meharry Medical College
2010 Dr. Karam F. A. Soliman
Florida A&M University
2008 Dr. Emma Fernandez-Repollet
University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences Campus
2006 Dr. Margarita Alegria
Center for Multicultural Mental Health Research, Cambridge Health Alliance
Dr. James R. Gavin, III
Healing Our Village, Inc.
2004 Dr. Ruth Kirschstein
National Institutes of Health
2002 Dr. Gillian Bryant-Greenwood
University of Hawaii, Manoa
Dr. Sidney A. McNairy, Jr.
National Center for Research Resources

Eligibility Requirements

  • Nominees for the Greenwood Award should be participants in an RCMI-funded program, and either have a well-established record of scientific achievement with independent investigator status (NIH RO1 or NSF or other major national foundation) or have an exemplary record of dedicated commitment to research administration.
  • Nominees for the Greenwood Award should have an outstanding publication record, indicative of their nationally recognized status in their field, or an outstanding record of service to minority research programs.
  • Nominees for the Greenwood Award should have demonstrated a commitment to the mentoring of under-represented minority students, postdoctoral fellows, and early-stage investigators.
  • Nominees for the Greenwood Award should be articulate spokespeople for the RCMI Program.

Nomination Guidelines

The Nomination Form must be accompanied by a curriculum vitae and bibliography, as well as a detailed nomination letter describing the nominee's professional achievements and a specific itemization of the nominee's contributions to the mission and goals of the RCMI Program. Nominations may be supported by up to two (2) letters which must be from individuals outside of the nominee's institution.

Click here to submit your nominations »

Awardee Notification

The Greenwood Award recipient will be notified on or before November 8th, 2019.