The Greenwood Award

Thank you for your interest in the Minority Health and Health Disparities Grantees' Conference.

The Greenwood Award is dedicated to the memory of Dr. Frederick C. Greenwood, an internationally acclaimed scientist and exemplary scientific administrator who worked at the University of Hawaii Manoa until his death in August 2000. From the inception of the RCMI Program and the Program Directors Association, Dr. Greenwood worked tirelessly to ensure that the program was well-funded and addressed the needs of the minority populations it was designed to serve. Dr. Greenwood was highly respected for his contributions to and productivity in his research area. He set and met high standards for research excellence. He also strongly advocated for research opportunities for students, particularly under-represented minority students.

The intent of the award is to honor individuals who exemplify either Dr. Greenwood's ideal of research excellence or his commitment to service to the biomedical science community, especially as it pertains to minority populations. One (1) award will be made for excellence in research and/or one (1) award given for excellence in service to the NIMHD Research Community. The awardee(s) will receive a modest honorarium and will be provided with funds to cover travel expenses and hotel accommodations to attend the 2014 Conference in National Harbor, Maryland, December 1-3, 2014.

Each awardee will be invited to present a lecture, which assesses the impact of recent scientific advances or legislative action on the reduction or elmination of health disparities. Considerable discretion, however, will be given to the lecturer regarding his or her choice of subject, and he or she may, for example, choose to discuss advances made in other fields of knowledge that have important implications on improving minority health and eliminating health disparities.

Past award recipients have been:

2012 :: Dr. James E. K. Hildreth
University of California, Davis School of Medicine, College of Biological Sciences
2010 :: Dr. Karam F. A. Soliman
Florida A&M University
2008 :: Dr. Emma Fernandez-Repollet
University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences Campus
2006 :: Dr. Margarita Alegria
Center for Multicultural Mental Health Research, Cambridge Health Alliance
Dr. James R. Gavin, III
Healing Our Village, Inc.
2004 :: Dr. Ruth Kirschstein
National Institutes of Health
2002 :: Dr. Gillian Bryant-Greenwood
University of Hawaii, Manoa
Dr. Sidney A. McNairy, Jr.
National Center for Research Resources


  1. Candidates for the Award should be participants in an RCMI funded program, and either have a well-established record of scientific achievement with independent investigator status (NIH RO1 or NSF or other major national foundation) or have an exemplary record of dedicated commitment to research administration.
  2. Candidates for the Award should have an outstanding publication record, indicative of their nationally recognized status in their field, or an outstanding record of service to minority research programs.
  3. Candicates for the Award should have demonstrated a commitment to the mentoring of under-represented minority students and postdoctoral fellows.
  4. Candidates for the Award should be articulate spokespeople for RCMI-funded program(s).

Nomination Guidelines

The Nomination Form must be accompanied by a curriculum vitae and bibliography, as well as a detailed nomination letter describing the nominee's professional achievements and a specific itemization of the nominee's contributions to the mission and goals of RCMI. Nominations may be supported by up to four (4) letters, three (3) of which must be from individuals outside the candidate's institution.

Awardee Notification

Greenwood Award Recipients will be notified on or before September 1, 2014.